LibGuides: English: Composition & Rhetoric: Databases

Reference Databases

Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
Credo is an easy-to-use tool for starting research. Gather background information on your topic from hundreds of full-text encyclopedias, dictionaries, thesauri, quotations, and subject-specific titles, as well as 500,000+ images and audio files and over 1,000 videos.

ERIC (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
Communication and Mass Media Complete This link opens in a new window
Communication & Mass Media Complete (CMMC) is a robust communication studies database. It provides full-text, indexing and abstracts for many top communication journals covering all related disciplines, including media studies, linguistics, rhetoric and discourse.

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
MasterFILE Complete This link opens in a new window
ArticleFirst This link opens in a new window
Points of View Reference Source This link opens in a new window
A great database for researching current issues for speeches, debates, or persuasive papers. It contains 400 topics, each with an overview (objective background / description), point (argument) and counterpoint (opposing argument).
Issues & Controversies This link opens in a new window
To help students, researchers, and readers understand the critical issues we face today, Issues & Controversies explores and analyzes hundreds of hot topics in politics, business, government, crime, law, energy, education, health, family, science, foreign policy, race, rights, society, and culture.
Global Issues in Context This link opens in a new window
A resource on global issues and perspectives that integrates news, global viewpoints, reference materials, country information, primary source documents, videos, statistics, and more in a single search.